powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted September 16, 2013
Prairie’s Clark, Xavier win second round of Valley divisional

Cedar Rapids Xavier had three golfers tie for third, helping the Saints grab the team title and a lead for the Mississippi Valley Conference Valley Division crown. The Saints shot 306, six shots better than the rest of the field, breaking a tie with Linn-Mar for the divisional lead.

Cedar Rapids Prairie Cal Clark claimed medalist honors, firing a 74 Monday at Pheasant Ridge Golf Course in Cedar Falls. Clark carded matching 37′s on the front and back to finish 2-over.

Clark posted an eagle, scoring a 2 on the par-4 No. 11 hole. He also birdied the par-5 eighth hole.

Matt Junge, Ben Sagers and John Ingwersen led Xavier with 76 apiece. Evan Jordan shot 78 to round out the Saints scorers. Junge will take a four-stroke lead into the third round on Sept 30 for MVC Valley Player of the Year honors.

Linn-Mar and Cedar Rapids Washington tied for second with 312.

Trevor McCann was part of the five-way tie for third with 76 to power the Lions. Dominic Rodriguez and Frank Lindwall led the Warriors with each shooting 77 and finishing in a four-way tie for eighth.


At Cedar Falls

(Pheasant Ridge Golf Course, par 72)

Teams - 1. C.R. Xavier 306, 2. (tie) Linn-Mar and C.R. Washington 312, 4. Dubuque Wahlert 315, 5. Cedar Falls 316, 6. C.R. Prairie 322, 7. Waterloo West 352.

Individuals - 1. Cal Clark (CRP), 74, 2. Matt Bauman (CF), 75, 3. Ben Sagers (CRX), Matt Junge (CRX), John Ingwersen (CRX), Trevor McCann (LM) and Sam Richter (WW), 76.

C.R. Xavier (306): Sagers 76, Junge 76, Ingwersen 76, Evan Jordan 78

Linn-Mar (312): McCann 76, Jason Gingrich 78, Max Thrune 78, Jake Sevcik 80

C.R. Washington (312): Dominic Rodriguez 78, Frank Lindwall 78, Max Claassen 79, Evan Jankwietz 79

C.R. Prairie (322): Clark 74, Mitch Lorenz 82, Cooper Reittinger 83, Colin Vondracek 83.


(Through two of three rounds)

Teams - 1. C.R. Xavier 263-306–569, 2. Linn-Mar 263–312-575, 3. Dubuque Wahlert 272-315–587, 4. C.R. Washington 276-312–588, 5. Cedar Falls 283-316–599, 6. C.R. Prairie 278-322–600, 7. Waterloo West 307-352–659.

*Individuals - 1. Matt Junge (CRX), 61-76–137, 2. (tie) Trevor McCann (LM) 65-76–141 and Charlie Smith (DW) 64-77–141, 4. (tie) Cal Clark (CRP) 68-74–142, Max Thrune (LM) 64-78–142 and Ben Schmidt (DW) 65-77–142, 7. (tie) Ben Sagers (CRX) 68-76–144 and Dominic Rodriguez (CRW) 67-77–144, 9. Evan Jordan (CRX) 67-78–145, 10. (tie) Jake Sevcik (LM) 66-80–146 and Sam Richter 70-76–146, 12. (tie) Frank Lindwall (CRW) 70-77–147, Jason Gingrich (LM) 69-78–147, Kellen Gray 67-80–147 and Matt Bauman (CF) 72-75–147.

*-Top six individuals and ties after third round on Sept. 30 earn first-team all-conference honors. The next six golfers and ties earn second-team all-conference honors.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook