powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted August 6, 2013
Beckman’s Lehmann named Class 2A all-state captain

They always play really good baseball up toward the Dubuque area, and this year’s Iowa Newspaper Association all-state teams prove that.

Class 2A state champion Dyersville Beckman is represented on the first team by star pitcher Joey Lehmann, who threw a complete-game three-hitter in the Blazers’ dramatic 2-1 championship game win last Saturday over North Polk. A panel of state sportswriters selected him the 2A team captain.

Lehmann went his entire varsity career without losing a game, including posting a 13-0 record and 0.43 earned run average this season. In 97 innings, the right-hander (headed to Iowa Central Community College) allowed just 44 his and struck out 135.

Teammate Ian Ross was selected to the 2A second team as an infielder.

Other 2A first teamers include Dubuque County rival Cascade first baseman Jared Manternach, who led a Cougars team ranked in the top five most of the season with a .430 batting average, three home runs, 13 doubles and 40 RBIs.

Nearby Monticello also had a first teamer in junior outfielder Tanner Felton, who hit .466 with three homers, 20 doubles, 20 stolen bases and 41 RBIs.

By the way, Beckman, Cascade and Monticello were in the same 2A postseason district.

The final area first-team selection in Class 2A is junior infielder Dylan Preston of Clayton Ridge-Central. He compiled an amazing .564 batting average with 22 doubles, four homers and 53 RBIs. In 110 at-bats, he struck out just three times.

In Class 3A, the Wamac Conference is represented by first-team picks Mitch Moser of Benton Community and Cody Marine of Williamsburg. Moser hit .454 with 37 RBIs for the Bobcats, stealing 16 bases and striking out just four times in 141 at-bats.

Marine helped Williamsburg to the Class 3A state tournament with a team-beat .467 batting average. He had 16 stolen bases, a homer and 27 RBIs.

In Class 4A, Iowa City West infielder Reid Bonner was named to the first team. He led the Trojans to another highly successful season with a .410 average, five home runs, 45 RBIs, 22 doubles and 29 stolen bases.

Named to the 4A second team are Iowa City West’s Tyus Adkins (pitcher), Linn-Mar’s Austin Stroschein (pitcher), Linn-Mar’s Brandt Ollinger (infielder), Cedar Rapids Prairie’s Ty Mougin (infielder) and Iowa City West’s Ezra Reiners (outfielder).

Others team captains are Casey Hall of Mason City Newman (1A), Gavin Sheakley of Clear Lakes (3A) and Dom Williams-Thompson of Sioux City East (4A).

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook