powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted June 24, 2013
Five Metro golfers make IHSGCA all-state teams

The Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association has released its all-state teams for the 2013 spring golf season.

Among the female golfers listed in Class 5A and 4A, five play for Cedar Rapids programs. Cedar Rapids Washington’s M.J. Kamin and Cedar Rapids Xavier duo Maddie Bertsch and Grace Winker were named to the first-team in Class 5A and 4A, respectively.

Cedar Rapids Kennedy’s Ali Lindo was named to the second team in 5A, while the Saints’ Lisa Olberding was a 4A second-team selection.

Other first team honors went to Indpendence’s Mackenzie Black and Western Dubuque’s Rochelle Beardsley in 4A, Paige Van Dyk, of South Tama, Dyersville Beckman’s Brooke Klostermann, Cascade’s Kate Coyle and Aspen Lynch and Monticello’s Hannah Thompson in 3A.

Valley Community seniors Jodi Schott and Lexi MoserĀ  were 1A first-team members, helping Valley Coach Robin Madole earn 1A Coach of the Year honor for girls. Valley’s Bailey Moser and Chandler Luzum were second-team selections.

Williamsburg Coach Brad Schaefer was named 3A Coach of the Year for boys, leading the Raiders to a fourth straight state tournament. Williamsburg’s Drew Slings and Corbin Blythe were named to the second team in 3A.

Maquoketa’s Ty Thede, Dillon de Perrot, of Washington, Iowa, and Independence’s Kurtis Christensen were named first-team all-state in 3A.

Dyersville Beckman’s Chance Maiers made the first team in 2A. Valley Community’s Sam Klahn earned first-team honors in 1A.

For a complete list of IHSGCA all-state selections, visit here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook