powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted March 11, 2013
South Tama will rejoin Wamac

CEDAR RAPIDS — It’s official: South Tama is heading back to the Wamac Conference.

Wamac officials have answered the school’s acceptance, admitting South Tama into the league effective the fall of 2014.

“We’re looking foward to rejoining the Wamac,” South Tama superintendent Kerri Nelson said Monday.

Currently a 16-team league (Waterloo Columbus will exit at the end of the school year to join the North Iowa Cedar League), the Wamac reached out to three schools – South Tama, Oelwein and Union — in January in an effort to get back to an even number.

South Tama was the only one to show interest, and the school board accepted the invitation.

And now, Wamac superintendents have respnded by voting the Tama-Toledo school in.

“In general, people (in the community) have a positive response to this,” Nelson said. “This will create more opportunities for playing time for kids.”

South Tama was a Wamac member until 2006, when it departed to join the Little Hawkeye Conference. It moved to the North Iowa Cedar League in 2011.

In 2014, South Tama will join the West Division, along with Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek Amana, Independence, Marion, Vinton-Shellsburg and Williamsburg.

The East Division will consist of Anamosa, DeWitt Central, Dyersville Beckman, Maquoketa, Mount Vernon, Solon, West Delaware and Western Dubuque.

There had been talk of South Tama entering the Wamac next fall, but “it would have been difficult for (the NICL) to replace us,” Nelson said. “We felt it was in the NICL’s best interest for us to honor our commitment.”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook