powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted January 26, 2013
West Delaware wins Wamac

MARION — Jeff Voss says his top-ranked West Delaware wrestling team has a lot of work to do.

Those watching Saturday’s Wamac meet at Marion High School might not agree with the veteran coach.

West Delaware crowned seven individual champions, including five by pin in title matches, to easily defend its league title. The Hawks finished with 308 points. Independence, which had four individual champs, finished a distant second with 202 points. Mount Vernon was third with 186.

“Our goal was to get 50 bonus points today, and I know we got well over that,” Voss said. “We had great final round. Our kids wrestled really well today, but we still have a lot of things we can work on.”

If there were flaws in West Delaware’s finalists, they were hard to detect. The Hawks were aggressive, going hard after their opponents. Voss said his team gets the best the opposition has to give each time out.

“We get a test every single week and this was another one,” Voss said. “They rose to the challenge again.”

One of the featured matches was the 220-pound final between West Delaware’s unbeaten Adam Reth and Williamsburg’s Corbin Blythe. In an earlier meeting, Blythe took Reth to overtime before losing. The rematch turned out to be a mismatch.

Reth took command from the beginning, eventually winning by fall in 3:07.

“I just went out and wrestled as hard as I could,” said Reth, now 36-0. “I went out there and let it go.”

Reth’s pin was in a strong closing streak for the Hawks that started with Tomas Oleson at 182. He was trailing DeWitt Central’s Chase Kraklio 5-3 when he hit a three-point move to take the lead, then maintained the pressure for a fall in 5:36. At 195, Jacyn Goebel needed just 51 seconds to deck Dyersville Beckman’s Kirby Kendrick. Following Reth’s fall, heavyweight Dean Broghammer closed the meet by pinning Benton Community’s Quintin Taylor in 1:45.

Patrick Woods (106), Zach Less (113) and Jake Voss (152) also won for the Hawks. Less won by major decision and Voss won by fall.

Independence got titles from Caleb Studebaker (126), John Morkel (138), Chase Straw (145) and Kyle Fank (170). Morkel won in overtime over Mount Vernon’s Kyle Jilovec and Fank pinned Williamsburg’s Mitchell Spendler.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook