powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted January 14, 2013
South Tama accepts Wamac invite

It appears as if South Tama and the Wamac Conference are about to get remarried, and the second engagement could be a whirlwind one.

Kerri Nelson, superintendent of the South Tama County Community School District, confirmed that her school’s board of education has accepted an invitation to rejoin the conference.

“That is true,” she said Monday afternoon. “Until, we have notification on their response, I can’t say much.

“We are anxiously awaiting a response from them.”

The Wamac is a conference consisting of 16 schools, one of which (Waterloo Columbus) will be leaving after the school year to join the North Iowa Cedar League.

West Delaware Athletics Director Bob Murphy said the Wamac reached out to three schools — South Tama, Oelwein and Union — in hopes of getting back to an even number.

Murphy said that neither Union nor Oelwein were interested.

South Tama had been a Wamac member until 2006, when it departed to join the Little Hawkeye Conference. It moved to the North Iowa Cedar League in 2011.

“There are pros and cons to both the NICL and the Wamac,” Nelson said. “One big advantage to the Wamac is the opportunity to develop our mid-level programs.”

Murphy said Friday that South Tama would be eligible to rejoin the Wamac in the fall of 2014. When reached Monday, he said everything could move faster than that.

“As soon as we get a formal letter from South Tama, we’ll start to move quickly,” he said. “Every e-mail I’ve received has been of the nature of letting them in this fall if it works for everybody.”

Admittance into the Wamac would take nine “yes” votes from the 15 schools.

“I absolutely don’t see any reason they wouldn’t get in,” Murphy said. “I think everyone would like to just put them in Columbus’ (present) slot in scheduling.”

If all works out, South Tama would be in the West Division, along with Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek Amana, Independence, Marion, Vinton-Shellsburg and Williamsburg.

The East Division consists of Anamosa, DeWitt Central, Dyersville Beckman, Maquoketa, Mount Vernon, Solon, West Delaware and Western Dubuque.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook