powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted December 12, 2012
Wamac changing basketball format

The ever-evolving Wamac Conference is about to make another format change for basketball.

Derek Roberts, the Anamosa High School athletics director in charge of Wamac basketball scheduling, said the conference will determine an overall champion as well as end-of-the-season divisional champions, beginning next season.

The change is necessary, Roberts said, because of Waterloo Columbus’ exit from the league. Columbus will join the North Iowa Cedar League next year, leaving the Wamac with 15 schools.

“We had to look at a lot of different options,” Roberts said. “This will give everybody 18 games (against conference foes).”

Instead of having one division of seven teams and another division of eight teams, the Wamac will work this way, beginning in 2013-14:

* All 15 teams will play a 14-game conference schedule.

* After that is complete, the teams will be divided into three divisions of five teams and will play a four-game divisional slate. Divisional champions will be determined by those four games only.

Divisions have not been named, but are known preliminarily as:

Pod 1 — DeWitt Central, Maquoketa, Marion, Mount Vernon, Solon.

Pod 2 — Anamosa, Dyersville Beckman, Independence, West Delaware, Western Dubuque.

Pod 3 — Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek Amana, Vinton-Shellsburg, Williamsburg.

Roberts said that the change will be for basketball only.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook