powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 28, 2012
Xavier nets six First Teamers along with POY, COY

Cedar Rapids Xavier quarterback Reggie Schulte. (Cliff Jette/The Gazette)

Cedar Rapids Xavier earned six spots on the 2012 All-Metro Football Team. The honors spread throughout the team, but player and coach of the year stayed within the same household.

Senior quarterback Reggie Schulte received Metro player of the year, while his dad, Duane, took home coach of the year.

Reggie Schulte guided the Saints to 13-1 season and a spot in the 4A state championship game. He completed more than 70 percent of his passes for 2,501 yards. The Saints’ signal caller threw 37 touchdowns, compared to seven interceptions.

Wide receiver Corbin Woods and offensive lineman Seth Fahnle joined Schulte on the first team offense from Xavier. The Saints’ Craig Murtha and Trey Sampson earned spots on the first team defense.

Murtha, a senior, led Xavier in tackles with 85. Sampson picked off eight passes.

Ryan Persick earned the sixth first team spot for his place kicking duties. Prairie’s punter, Jarred Edmonds, also received a special teams accolade, in addition to his spot on the first team as a wide receiver.

Marion and Linn-Mar along with Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Praire and Washington all had two offensive players named Metro first team. Marion and Prairie had two more added on the first team defense.

The Hawks’ quarterback, Jace Hanna, and his top target, Edmonds both notched first team spots. The duo accounted for 1,267 passing/receiving yards and 16 touchdowns alone. Hanna finished with 2,555 yards and 28 TDs total.

Mitch Dellamuth and Cam Rathje also earned first team spots for Prairie.

Jefferson’s Peter Watson took the only first team spot for his school.

Marion’s Ethan Herren and Trev Beiry made the first team offense, while Andrew Davis and Justin Dolley earned first team defensive honors. Beiry totaled more than 1,200 yards on the ground for Indians.

Marion had four more players on the second team, three to the offense and one on defense. Xavier finished with 10 first or second teamers after four more players named to the second team defense.


Reggie Schulte                        Xavier                                     12

Corbin Woods                         Xavier                                     12

Seth Fahnle                             Xavier                                     12

Justin Green                            Linn-Mar                                 12

Nick Trabucco                         Linn-Mar                                 12

Austin Holzer                          Kennedy                                 11

Alex Hillyer                            Kennedy                                 12

Jarred Edmonds                      Prairie                                      12

Jace Hanna                              Prairie                                      12

Ethan Herren                           Marion                                     12

Trev Biery                               Marion                                     12

Zac Gillis                                 Washington                             12

Jason Oney                              Washington                             12


Ross Lembeck                         Linn-Mar                                 11

Layne Sullivan                        Jefferson                                 11

Bryce Meeker                          Prairie                                      10

Drew Heitland                                    Kennedy                                 11

Mitch Ross                              Marion                                     12

Zach Borens                            Marion                                     12

Quinn Cannoy                         Marion                                     12


Craig Murtha                           Xavier                                     12

Trey Sampson                         Xavier                                     12

Zach Martins                           Linn-Mar                                 12

Peter Watson                           Jefferson                                 12

Andrew Davis                         Marion                                     12

Justin Dolley                           Marion                                     12

Mitch Dellamuth                     Prairie                                      11

Cam Rathje                             Prairie                                      11

Grant Miller                            Kennedy                                 12

Mitch Blades                           Washington                             12


Emiliano Martinez                   Xavier                                     12

Miles Sullivan                         Xavier                                     11

Matt Nelson                            Xavier                                     11

Sean Ickes                               Xavier                                     11

Dakota Digmann                     Linn-Mar                                 12

Isaac Frazier                            Marion                                     12

Drake Allen                             Jefferson                                 12

Jesse Vizzini                            Prairie                                      11

Casey Becker                          Prairie                                      12

Donovan Kosman                   Kennedy                                 12

Riley Fergus                            Kennedy                                 12

Jake Bjornsen                          Washington                             12

Will Rings                               Washington                             12

First Team Kicker:  Ryan Persick (Xavier)

First Team Punter:  Jarred Edmonds (Prairie)

2012 METRO FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR:   Reggie Schulte (Xavier)

2012 METRO COACH OF THE YEAR:  Duane Schulte & Staff (Xavier)


MARION                               XAVIER                                JEFFERSON

Tyler Gunderson                     Logan Clarahan                       Dalton Kuehl

Brandon Hornbeck                 Cole Turner                             Hunter Kloubec

Trevor Hardman                      Paul Cavin                               Anton Robertson

Tristan Beghtol                       Tristen Scallon                        Jason McClenahan

John Gorman                           Ben Helms                              Raven Johnson

PRIAIRIE                              KENNEDY                            WASHINGTON

Demetrius Harper                    David Hynek                          Reid Snitker

Jesse Hynek                            Triston Christopher                 Connor Vincent

Tristan Beyer                           Jacob Frazier-Flores                Julian Good-Jones

Kentrel Smith                          Tommy Kaiser             Noah Dostal

Andrew Netolicky                  Andrew Johnson                     Mitch Bredeson


Luke Meyer, Brandon Jeffries, Tyler Kane, Andrew Holladay & Justin Putz


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook