powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 6, 2012
State volleyball: 5A capsules

Team capsules for the Class 5A qualifiers at the state volleyball tournament, in bracket order:


Nickname: Dragons

Coach: Rick Brooks (19th year, 486-187)

Tourney history: 6th appearance, first since 2008. Class 4A state champion in 2007.

Starting lineup:

No. Name Ht. Yr.Pos.
1Sanna Rasmussen5-10Sr.MH
8Taylor Joens6-0Jr.OH
10Emily Hanson5-9Jr.OH
12Madeline Miller5-9Jr.OH
15Abby Hallman5-4Jr.
28Hayley Dotseth5-9Jr.OH

No. 1 ANKENY (29-6)

Nickname: Hawkettes

Coach: Dave Whims (34th year, 909-155; 13th year at Ankeny, 434-63)

Tourney history: 13th appearance, including 11 straight. Four-time state champions, most recently in 2009.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Moriah Johnson 6-1So.MH
4Jenny Roberts5-6Sr.S
10Claire Wandrey5-6Jr.L
11Molly Wiedmier5-10Sr.MH
17Jaali Winters6-0So.OH
19Megan Ballenger6-0So.MH 


Nickname: Maroons

Coach: Mary Beth Wiskus (4th year, 102-42)

Tourney history: 1st appearance.

Starting lineup:

No. Name Yr.Pos.
2Anne Buscher Sr. L
6Melissa DeRocher  Sr.OH
7Elise Brown  Sr. OH 
10 Mary Jess Heddinger Sr.MH
11Jessi Henter  Jr. S
14Alex DeMarco SoMH

No. 4 IOWA CITY HIGH (29-8)

Nickname: Little Hawks

Coach: Craig Pitcher (17th year, 464-148; 11th year at City High, 363-78)

Tourney history: 12th appearance. Two-time state champions (1998, 2006). Class 4A runners-up last year.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
4Abby Saehler6-1Sr. MH 
Ruth Grace 5-8Jr. 
7Michaela Nelson 5-10Jr. OH 
9Liz Hubing 5-10Sr. OH
10Rachel Rinehart 5-9Sr.OH
15Aliyah Gustafson 6-0Sr.MH

No. 7 BETTENDORF (20-11)

Nickname: Bulldogs

Coach: Diane Lichtenberg (29th year, 541-274)

Tourney history: 8th appearance, first since 2007.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Hannah Matt5-11Jr.OH
5Caitlin Wernentin6-0Jr.OH
10Megan Sharkey5-9Fr.
11Danielle Pennington5-11Fr.OH
14Tessa Henderson 5-10Sr.MH 
15Anna Willey 6-0Jr.S


Nickname: Mustangs

Coach: Randy Dolson (6th year at Hempstead, 168-55; 27 year overall)

Tourney history: 14th appearance. Two-time state champions (1975, 2003).

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Heather Splinter5-9Jr.
10Haley Van Cleave6-3Jr.MH
14Audrey Reeg5-10Sr.OH
15Allison Bitter5-9Jr.OH
16Hope Koeperich6-1Jr.MH
20Karrah Davis6-0Jr.OH

No. 10 URBANDALE (31-8)

Nickname: J-Hawks

Coach: Liz Baethke (18th year, 440-212; 13th year at Urbandale, 359-133)

Tourney history: 6th appearance. Most recent was 2010.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Mallary Erbes 5-8So.S
Mackenzie Brees5-9 So.OH
9Emilee Erichsen5-9Jr.OH
17Kyla Inderski6-0Jr.OH
18Celie Kohls 6-0Jr.MH
19Brooke DeCarlo5-10Sr.MH 


Nickname: Spartans

Coach: Stacey Ruff (5th year at Pleasant Valley, 128-39; 16th year overall)

Tourney history: 9th appearance. Most recent was 2008.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
4Allie Carter5-7Jr.S
Sydney Strawser5-10Jr.OH
16Chloe Miller5-10Sr.OH
17Megan Paustian 5-11Jr.MH
18Maddi Theisen 5-10Sr.MH 
20Morgan Waterman5-4Jr.DS


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook