powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 6, 2012
State volleyball: 4A capsules

Team capsules for the Class 4A qualifiers at the state volleyball tournament, in bracket order:


Nickname: Saints

Coach: Barb Sullivan (3rd year, 95-55)

Tourney history: 4th appearance. Most recent was 2010, when they made 4A semifinals.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
1Halle Heying5-4Jr.L
4Melissa Everett6-0Sr.MH
7Kara Zwanziger 6-0Jr.MH
12Sarah Homan5-6Sr.
13Kayla Torson5-11So.OH 
14 Audrey Richards5-8Sr.OH 


No. 1 CHARLES CITY (42-1)

Nickname: Comets

Coach: Matt Johnson (9th year, 260-109)

Tourney history: 4th appearance, and second in a row. 2A runners-up in 2002.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
2Jackie Foster5-9Jr.OH
6Hali Hillegas5-7So.S
8Mara Forsyth5-9Jr.OH
14Cady Wendel5-10Jr.MH
15Torey Buenger5-11Sr.MH
17Jessie Sindlinger 5-11Sr.OH


No. 5 NORTH SCOTT (27-5)

Nickname: Lancers

Coach: Amy Schubert (3rd year, 58-36)

Tourney history: 4th appearance, first since 1986. Class 2A state champions in 1985.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
3Hannah Lindaman5-7Sr.S
6Erin Mead5-11Sr.OH
8Morgan Schabilion5-10Sr.MH
13Ashley Schabilion 6-0Sr.MH
14Sydney Rollinger5-9Sr.OH
16Emily Hermiston5-11Sr.OH



Nickname: Go-Hawks

Coach: EaVon Woodin (32nd year, 832-223; 24th year at WSR, 705-185)

Tourney history: 7th appearance, and fourth in a row. 3A state champions in 2009 and 2011.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Abby Caldwell5-8Jr.L
2Emma Irvin5-7Sr.S
5Ali Arns5-8Jr.OH
6Mattie Gray5-9Sr.OH
11Elena Gray5-11So.MH
14Kara Roggemann6-0Sr.MH


No. 6 SOLON (31-4)

Nickname: Spartans

Coach: Peter Gustin (1st year, 31-4)

Tourney history: 2nd appearance. Made debut last year.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
4Rylee Smith5-2Jr.L
6Kelsey Cave6-2Sr.MH
9Emma Rickels5-5Sr.S
10Kelsey Hinrichs5-10Sr.OH
12Jordan Smith5-10So.OH
16Jordan Runge6-0So.OH 


No. 3 HARLAN (32-5)

Nickname: Cyclones

Coach: Angie Spangenberg (20th year, 488-131; 2nd year at Harlan, 63-12)

Tourney history: 5th appearance, and second straight.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
5Jess Schaben6-1So.OH
7Elle Kloewer 5-9So.OH
8Kenzie Swanson 5-4So.
11Lauren Larsen 5-8Sr.OH
14Josie Esser5-11Sr.MH
15Taylor Frederick6-0Fr.MH


No. 8 WEST DELAWARE (31-11)

Nickname: Hawks

Coach: Brett Mather (18th year at West Delaware, 541-129; 570-105 overall)

Tourney history: 7th appearance. Most recent was 2010. Four-time state runners-up.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Carlee Ketchum5-7Fr.OH
4Cassie Vaske5-6Sr.OH
7Emily Thole 5-8So.OH
9Maddie Coates 5-4Jr.S
12Paige Soppe5-8Jr.OH
15Leslie Hoffmann5-11Sr.MH



Nickname: Crusaders

Coach: Mary Miller (32nd year, 682-317; 6th year at Heelan, 216-62)

Tourney history: 19th appearance, including 15 in a row. Class 3A runners-up last year. Three-time state champions (1999, 2006, 2007).

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
3Laura Twiford6-1Sr.OH
4Lauren Brobst6-1Sr.MH
6Taylor Koolstra 5-7Sr.MH
9Megan McCarthy5-11Sr.OH
12Grace Hanno 5-8Fr.OH
15Taylor Ferguson 5-4Fr. 


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook