powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 6, 2012
State volleyball: 3A capsules

Team capsules for the Class 3A qualifiers at the state volleyball tournament, in bracket order:

No. 14 IOWA FALLS-ALDEN (32-4)

Nickname: Cadets

Coach: Steve Barhite (10th year, 216-124)

Tourney history: 11th appearance, first since 2001. Class 2A state champions in 1999.

Starting lineup:

No. Name Yr.Pos.
3Lindsey Barnhart Sr.S
5Kylie Gerstein Jr.OH
6Kelsey Redmond So.MH 
8Harli Janes Sr.MH
13 Jamie Peterson  Sr.OH
16Jessi Timm Sr.OH


No. 1 MEDIAPOLIS (42-0)

Nickname: Bullettes

Coach: Dennis Jandrey (26th year, 743-188)

Tourney history: 6th appearance. Most recent was 2010.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
2Molly Woodruff5-6Jr.DS
5Kensley Heater 5-7Sr.OH
7Rachel Holsteen 5-11Jr. OH
8Jessica Holsteen5-11Sr.MH
11Aubrey Siegle5-6Sr.S
15Haley Hillyard6-1Sr.OH


No. 7 UNION (33-7)

Nickname: Knights

Coach: Brian Jesse (3rd year at Union, 94-20; 6th year overall)

Tourney history: 3rd appearance, and third straight. Class 3A semifinalists last year.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
2Payton Hilton5-11Sr.MH
8Maria Wrage5-11So.MH
9Jena Boisen5-9Jr.OH
10Breann Bader5-6Jr.L
13Sam Barz5-10Sr.OH
22Lauren Barz5-6Jr. S


No. 4 SIOUX CENTER (31-6)

Nickname: Warriors

Coach: Julie Oldenkamp (6th year, 167-74; 5th year at Sioux Center, 119-66

Tourney history: 4th appearance. Most recent was 1999.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
1Malyn Hulstein5-6Sr.S
2Jillian Estes5-9Sr.OH
3Carrigan Cleveringa5-6Sr.L
5Amber Bakker6-0Sr.MH 
Jennifer Buyert6-2Jr.MH
10Jill VanderPlaats6-0So.OH


No. 10 MOUNT VERNON (27-10)

Nickname: Mustangs

Coach: Maggie Willems (2nd year, 45-29)

Tourney history: 8th appearance. Most recent was 2010. Three-time state champions (1984, 2009, 2010).

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
1Morgan Melchert5-8So.S
2Chelsey Schirm5-7Sr.OH
6Amanda Petrick5-6Sr.OH 
8Marissa Stark5-8Sr.L
12Emma Cochrane5-9So.OH 
20Hannah Whitley5-10Jr.MH



Nickname: Knights

Coach: Kyle Condon (1st year, 28-7)

Tourney history: 1st appearance.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
Claire Bird5-8Jr.OH
4Lexi Flynn5-4Jr.L
9Sydney Lunardi5-8Sr.OH
11Danielle Cabel6-2Jr.OH
13Kate Fennelly5-9Sr.S
16Hailey Schneden6-0Sr.MH


No. 9 RED OAK (27-6)

Nickname: Tigers

Coach: Angela Montgomery (4th year, 97-36)

Tourney history: 11th appearance. Most recent was 2010.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
3Blake Bergren5-10Jr.MH
4Josie Snyder5-5Sr.DS
5Angela Mahoney5-7Fr.OH
7Grace Blomstedt6-1So.MH
9Kate Walker5-9So.OH
16Maddie Holmgren 5-6Sr.S



Nickname: Lady Dutch

Coach: Jon Mouw (6th year, 132-70; 4th year at MOC-FV, 97-50)

Tourney history: 2nd appearance, if you count Maurice-Orange City in 1988.

Starting lineup:

No. NameHt.Yr.Pos.
1Katie Landhuis5-8Jr.OH
2Ali Achterhof5-11Jr.MH
4Alyssa Brown5-6So.S
6Alexis Conaway 6-0 Jr.OH
8Emily McDonald6-1Jr.MH
10Shelby Schouten5-10Jr.OH


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook