powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 1, 2012
Torson is Valley Division POY

Xavier's Kayla Torson (13) is the MVC Valley Division player of the year. (Brian Ray/The Gazette-KCRG)

Cedar Rapids Xavier’s Kayla Torson has been selected the MVC Valley Division volleyball player of the year.

Torson led the Saints to the division title and a state-tournament berth. Xavier faces Charles City in a Class 4A state quarterfinal next Wednesday.

A 5-foot-11 sophomore, Torson averaged 3.96 kills per game with a .422 kill efficiency.

Xavier Coach Barb Sullivan is the Valley Division coach of the year. Dubuque Hempstead’s Audrey Reeg and Randy Dolson are Mississippi Division player and coach of the year.


First Team (*unanimous)

*Michaela Nelson, jr., Iowa City High; *Audrey Reeg, sr., Dubuque Hempstead; *Jordan Calef, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; *Mollie Mason, jr., Iowa City West; *Angela Wagner, sr., Dubuque Senior; Abby Saehler, sr., Iowa City High; Lexi Rogers, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Heather Splinter, jr., Dubuque Hempstead.

Player of the year — Reeg. Coach of the year — Randy Dolson, Dubuque Hempstead.

Second Team

Amanda Ollinger, fr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Mickey Hansche, sr., Iowa City High; Haley Van Cleave, jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Devan Stieber, sr., Dubuque Hempstead; Erin Coker, jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Laynie Whitehead, soph., Iowa City West; Allie Osterberger, sr., Dubuque Senior; Liz Hubing, sr., Iowa City High.


First Team (*unanimous)

*Kayla Torson, soph., Cedar Rapids Xavier; *Kaz Brown, jr., Cedar Falls; Sarah Homan, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Miranda Dusenberry, sr., Cedar Falls; Hanna Reese, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Dani Franklin, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Alyssa Klostermann, sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Megan Allmandinger, sr., Linn-Mar.

Player of the year — Torson. Coach of the year — Barb Sullivan.

Second Team

Melissa Everett, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Halle Heying, jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; Molly Tranel, sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Aleena Hobbs, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Shanay Gonder, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Callie Cooley, sr., Waterloo West; Becca Bell, sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Kiley Coppock, jr., Linn-Mar.


First Team (*unanimous)

*Kayla Torson, soph., Xavier; *Jordan Calef, sr., Kennedy; Dani Franklin, jr., Washington; Becca Bell, sr., Prairie; Abby Phillips, soph., Marion; Megan Allmandinger, sr., Linn-Mar; Sarah Homan, sr., Xavier; Hanna Reese, sr., Washington.

Coach of the year — Barb Sullivan, Xavier

Second Team

Aleena Hobbs, jr., Washington; Kayla Jaschen, jr., Jefferson; Amanda Sahm, soph., Marion; Halle Lueck, Prairie; Kalle Heying, jr., Xavier; Lexi Rogers, sr., Kennedy; Shanay Gonder, sr., Washington; Kiley Coppock, jr., Linn-Mar.



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook