powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted September 27, 2012
Regional volleyball projections

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union will release its regional volleyball pairings Friday.

Here are Jeff Linder’s bracket projections, revised after Thursday’s new rankings:


Region 1

Sioux City West at Sioux City North (winner faces Sioux City East)

Fort Dodge at Urbandale

Region 2

Waukee at Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln (winner faces West Des Moines Dowling)

Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson at West Des Moines Valley

Region 3

Des Moines North at Ames (winner faces Ankeny)

Mason City at Cedar Falls

Region 4

Des Moines East at Des Moines Roosevelt (winner faces Johnston)

Des Moines Lincoln at Southeast Polk

Region 5

Dubuque Senior at Linn-Mar (winner faces Dubuque Hempstead)

Waterloo East at Waterloo West

Region 6

Marshalltown at Ottumwa (winner faces Iowa City High)

Cedar Rapids Jefferson at Iowa City West

Region 7

Cedar Rapids Prairie at Cedar Rapids Washington (winner faces Clinton)

Cedar Rapids Kennedy at Bettendorf

Region 8

Davenport West at Davenport Central (winner faces Pleasant Valley)

Burlington at Muscatine


Region 1

Spencer at Humboldt (winner faces LeMars)

Denison-Schleswig at Storm Lake (winner faces Sioux City Heelan)

Region 2

Glenwood at Creston (winner faces Lewis Central)

Dallas Center-Grimes at Carroll (winner plays Harlan)

Region 3

Boone at Perry (winner faces Webster City)

Ballard at Clear Lake (winner faces Charles City)

Region 4

 Des Moines East at Newton (winner faces Grinnell)

Benton Community at Vinton-Shellsburg (winner faces Waverly-Shell Rock)

Region 5

Carlisle at Norwalk (winner faces Indianola)

Clear Creek Amana at Marion (winner faces Cedar Rapids Xavier)

Region 6

Knoxville at Pella (winner faces Winterset)

Washington at Oskaloosa (winner faces Solon)

Region 7

Western Dubuque at DeWitt Central (winner faces Maquoketa)

Decorah at Dubuque Wahlert (winner faces West Delaware)

Region 8

Keokuk at Fort Madison (winner faces Fairfield)

Davenport North at Mount Pleasant (winner faces North Scott)


Region 1

Ida Grove OA-BCIG at Greene County

South Central Calhoun at East Sac County

Sergeant Bluff-Luton at Unity Christian

Humboldt at MOC-Floyd Valley

Region 2

Algona at Clarion-Goldfield

Cherokee at Sheldon

Estherville-Lincoln Central at Garner-Hayfield/Ventura

Spirit Lake at Sioux Center

Region 3

Atlantic at Red Oak

Shenandoah at Clarinda

Interstate 35 at North Polk

Saydel at Adel ADM

Region 4

Central Springs at Osage

Hampton-Dumont at Iowa Falls-Alden

Gilbert at Roland-Story

South Hardin at Nevada

Region 5

Forest City at Crestwood

New Hampton at Union

Independence at Oelwein

Center Point-Urbana at Mount Vernon

Region 6

East Marshall at South Tama

Baxter CMB at Bondurant-Farrar

Mid-Prairie at Williamsburg

Columbus Junction at West Liberty

Region 7

Waukon at Dyersville Beckman

Monticello at Cascade

Anamosa at Northeast

Camanche at Davenport Assumption

Region 8

Clarke at Chariton

Monroe PCM at Albia

Davis County at Centerville

Central Lee at Mediapolis


Region 1

Emmetsburg at Okoboji (winner faces North Union)

South O’Brien at Sibley-Ocheyedan (winner faces Sioux Central)

Rock Valley at Lawton-Bronson (winner faces Boyden-Hull)

Hartley HMS at West Lyon (winner faces Western Christian)

Region 2

Woodbury Central at West Monona (winner faces Hinton)

Westwood at Missouri Valley (winner faces Mapleton MVAO )

East Mills at Tri-Center (winner faces Underwood)

Avoca AHST at Logan-Magnolia (winner faces Council Bluffs St. Albert)

Region 3

Manson-NW Webster at Prairie Valley (winner faces Fort Dodge St. Edmond)

Pocahontas Area at Alta-Aurelia (winner faces Ridge View)

Belmond-Klemme at Saint Ansgar (winner faces West Fork)

West Hancock at Eagle Grove (winner faces Lake Mills)

Region 4

South Hamilton at Madrid (winner faces West Marshall)

Ogden at West Central Valley (winner faces Carroll Kuemper)

Colfax-Mingo at Iowa Valley (winner faces Des Moines Christian)

Panorama at Pella Christian (winner faces Woodward-Granger)

Region 5

Oakland Riverside at Audubon (winner faces IKM-Manning)

Clarinda Academy at Griswold (winner faces Treynor)

Mount Ayr at Nodaway Valley (winner faces Van Meter)

Central Decatur at North Mahaska (winner faces Eddyville-Blakesburg)

Region 6

Ackley AGWSR at Nashua-Plainfield (winner faces North Butler)

Hudson at Aplington-Parkersburg (winner faces Dike-New Hartford)

Conrad BCLUW at North Tama (winner faces Gladbrook-Reinbeck)

North Linn at Jesup (winner faces Alburnett)

Region 7

North Cedar at Maquoketa Valley (winner faces Starmont)

Wapsie Valley at Edgewood-Colesburg (winner faces Denver)

MFL MarMac at Bellevue (winner faces Clayton Ridge)

South Winneshiek at North Fayette (winner faces Sumner-Fredericksburg)

Region 8

Van Buren at Cardinal (winner faces Pekin)

Iowa City Regina at Highland (winner faces West Branch)

Louisa-Muscatine at Wapello (winner faces West Burlington)

Wilton at Tipton (winner faces Durant)


Region 1

Remsen St. Mary’s at Remsen Union

Marcus MMC at Trinty Christian

George-Little Rock at West Sioux

Central Lyon, bye

Algona Garrigan at Harris-Lake Park

Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire at Northwood-Kensett

Newell-Fonda at Storm Lake St. Mary’s

Southeast Webster at West Bend-Mallard

Region 2

Granville Spalding at Kingsley-Pierson

River Valley at Clay Central-Everly

Siouxland Christian at Akron-Westfield

LeMars Gehlen, bye

Whiting at West Harrison

Charter Oak-Ute at Laurens-Marathon

Paton-Churdan at Boyer Valley

Coon Rapids-Bayard at at Ar-We-Va

Region 3

Glidden-Ralston at Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton

Guthrie Center at Earlham

Essex at Woodbine

Anita CAM at Adair-Casey

Sidney at Nishnabotna

Heartland Christian at Fremont-Mills

Corning at Villisca

Stanton, bye

Region 4

North Iowa at Mason City Newman

Riceville at Rockford

Valley Lutheran at Waterloo Christian

Grundy Center, bye

Corwith CWL at Northeast Hamilton

Latimer CAL at Colo-Nesco

Ankeny Christian Academy at Iowa Christian Academy

Grandview Park Baptist, bye

Region 5

Mormon Trail at Seymour

Wayne at Lamoni

Diagonal at Orient-Macksburg

Lenox at Bedford

Pleasantville at Lynnville-Sully

Tri-County at Martensdale-St. Marys

Southeast Warren at Murray

East Union, bye

Region 6

Springville at Central City

East Buchanan at Don Bosco

Dunkerton at West Central

Janesville, bye

HLV at Belle Plaine

Montezuma at BGM

GMG at Meskwaki Settlement

Cedar Valley Christian at Lisbon

Region 7

Elkader Central at Lansing Kee

Postville at Turkey Valley

Valley Community at Clarksville

Tripoli, bye

Calamus-Wheatland at Lone Tree

Midland at Bellevue Marquette

Rivermont Collegiate at WACO

Clinton Prince of Peace at Preston

Region 8

Iowa Mennonite at Keota

English Valleys at Sigourney

Melcher-Dallas at Twin Cedars

Fairfield Maharishi at New London

Harmony at Danville

Burlington Notre Dame at Winfield-Mount Union

Moulton-Udell at Moravia

Fort Madison Holy Trinity, bye

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook