powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted January 17, 2012
The district deck is reshuffled

Jay Scheel (2) and defending Class 3A state champion Union will compete in 2A for the next two seasons. (Brian Ray/ SourceMedia Group News)


Tony Perkins gave himself a quiz before the new installment of high school football districts came out.

“I wrote down the six schools I thought we would be with,” said Perkins, the coach at Marion High School. “I got them all right but one.”

The Iowa High School Athletic Association released the 2012 and 2013 district assignments Tuesday morning. Schedules will be released in February.

As expected, defending state champions Union and Iowa City Regina moved down a class. Union will compete in Class 2A District 3; Regina is a member of 1A District 6.

Regina was placed with two other perennial powers, West Branch and Sigourney-Keota. Regals Coach Marv Cook graduated from West Branch in 1984.

Iowa City Regina has won two straight Class 2A state titles. The Regals will be in 1A next fall. (Brian Ray/ SourceMedia Group News)

“It’s got the potential to be a great rivalry,” Cook said. “I have great respect for Coach (Butch) Pedersen and the history that West Branch has.”

West Branch has been to the 1A semifinals four straight years; Regina owns a 28-game winning streak and the last two 2A state championships.

Union moves down to 2A after capturing the 3A crown last year. The Knights won’t have running back Wes Burnside for another title run, but they will have the Jay Scheel-Trev Hadachek passing combination.

“We kind of thought we might move down,” said Coach Joe Hadaceck. “We’ve got a good group coming back. We hope to rebuild and see what happens.”

As Perkins indicated, Marion wasn’t thrown much of a surprise in the newly configurated 3A District 6.

The Indians will compete with Anamosa, Benton Community, Clear Creek Amana, DeWitt Central, Maquoketa, and Solon. It is the first time Marion and Solon have been matched together.

Perkins had all of his district foes right except one. He was expecting Vinton-Shellsburg instead of CCA.

“It doesn’t matter who we play, we’ll go play them,” Perkins said. “We’ve got to get better than we were last year.”

Marion head coach Tony Perkins expects more than a 4-5 season in 2012. (Jim Slosiarek/SourceMedia Group News)

Marion is coming off a 4-5 season.

Perennial 2A power North Fayette has dropped into 1A. Among the Hawks’ new rivals is defending 1A state champion Saint Ansgar.

Cedar Valley Christian will begins its first cycle of district play in Eight Man District 4. The Huskies started their program last summer and compiled an 0-4 varsity record as an independent last fall.

Eight Man District 4 also includes Elkader Central and Valley Community, which will be new to the eight-man game. With 70 schools, the eight-man class is now the largest of the six.

Class 4A football now has an East-West split in qualification method.

The East side hasn’t changed: the 16 qualifiers from the Mississippi Valley and Mississippi Athletic conferences are determined by the traditional points system.

In the West, schools were placed in four divisions without regard for geography. Each of the four divisions will have four playoff qualifiers.

Forty-seven teams will compete in 4A, 56 apiece in 3A, 2A and 1A, 63 in Class A. Thirty-two teams will qualify for the playoffs in each class.


(Complete district assignments … 4A 3A 2A 1A A Eight Man)

Class 3A District 4 – Ballard, Boone, Dallas Center-Grimes, Grinnell, Newton, Saydel, South Tama.

Class 3A District 5 – Crestwood, Decorah, Independence, Oelwein, Vinton-Shellsburg, West Delaware, Western Dubuque.

Class 3A District 6 – Anamosa, Benton Community, Clear Creek Amana, DeWitt Central, Maquoketa, Marion, Solon.

Class 3A District 7 – Centerville, Fairfield, Fort Madison, Keokuk, Mount Pleasant, Washington, Williamsburg.

Class 2A District 3 – Central Springs, Hampton-Dumont, New Hampton, Osage, Union, Waterloo Columbus, Waukon.

Class 2A District 4 – Camanche, Cascade, Center Point-Urbana, Dyersville Beckman, Monticello, Mount Vernon, Northeast.

Class 2A District 5 – Central Lee, Columbus Junction, Louisa-Muscatine, Mediapolis, Mid-Prairie, West Burlington-Notre Dame, West Liberty.

Class 1A District 4 – Denver, Jesup, MFL MarMac, North Fayette, Saint Ansgar, South Winneshiek, Sumner-Fredericksburg.

Class 1A District 5 – Alburnett, Bellevue, Clayton Ridge, Durant, Maquoketa Valley, North Cedar, Tipton.

Class 1A District 6 – Cardinal, Eddyville-Blakesburg, Iowa City Regina, Sigourney-Keota, Wapello, West Branch, Wilton.

Class A District 3 – East Buchanan, Edgewood-Colesburg, North Butler, North Linn, Postville, Starmont, Turkey Valley, Wapsie Valley.

Class A District 4 – Belle Plaine, Conrad BCLUW, Garwin GMG, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Grundy Center, Iowa Valley, North Tama.

Class A District 5 – Danville, Highland, Lisbon, Lone Tree, New London, Van Buren, WACO, Winfield-Mount Union.

Class A District 6 – BGM, English Valleys, Lynnville-Sully, Montezuma, North Mahaska, Pekin, Pleasantville, Southeast Warren.

Eight Man District 4 – Cedar Valley Christian, Central City, Elkader Central, Lansing Kee, Midland, Preston, Springville, Valley Community, West Central.

Eight Man District 5 – Harmony, HLV, Melcher-Dallas, Meskawki Settlement, Moravia, Seymour, Tri-County, Twin Cedars, Wayne.


One Response to The district deck is reshuffled

  1. HAND THE regals two more titles. they should have applied to play up.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook