powered by 
The Gazette KCRG
Posted November 6, 2011
Stumpff, Duric head all-MVC volleyball teams

Shelly Stumpff of Iowa City West is the MVC Valley Division volleyball player of the year.

Stumpff, a 6-foot-1 senior, led the Women of Troy to the Valley Division title. West will try to defend its Class 4A state championship this week at the U.S. Cellular Center.

Zinka Duric of Waterloo West is the Mississippi Division player of the year.

Kathy Bresnahan of West and Craig Pitcher of Iowa City High are the divisional coaches of the year after leading their respective teams to league titles.

Stumpff is joined on the Valley Division first team by teammates Olivia Fairfield and Anna Pashkova. Michaela Nelson and Erin Muir of City High are on the Mississippi Division first team, along with Cedar Rapids Kennedy’s Lexi Rogers and Allie Hutcheson. Cedar Rapids Xavier’s Kelly Biermann is a first-teamer in the Valley Division.


First Team

OH Zinka Duric, 5-10, sr., Waterloo West; OH Amy Ihm, 5-9, sr., Dubuque Wahlert; OH Michaela Nelson, 5-10, soph., Iowa City High; MH Lexi Rogers, 6-0, jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; S Allie Hutcheson, 6-1, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; S Erin Muir, 5-7, sr., Iowa City High; S Beth Walker, 5-8, jr., Dubuque Wahlert; L Ellie Rauch, 5-6, sr., Dubuque Wahlert.

Player of the year – Duric. Coach of the year — Craig Pitcher, Iowa City High.

Second Team

OH Callie Cooley, 5-8, jr., Waterloo West; OH Dani Franklin, soph., Cedar Rapids Washington; OH Alyssa Klostermann, 5-10, jr., Dubuque Wahlert; OH Katherine Thompson, 6-0, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; OH Angela Wagner, 6-1, jr., Dubuque Senior; MH Abby Saehler, 6-1, jr., Iowa City High; MH Jordan Calef, 6-1, jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; L Laura Shepherd, 5-7, sr., Iowa City High.


First Team

OH Kelly Biermann, 6-1, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier; OH Audrey Reeg, 5-10, jr., Dubuque Hempstead; OH Shelly Stumpff, 6-1, sr., Iowa City West; MH Kaz Brown, 6-3, soph., Cedar Falls; MH Olivia Fairfield, 5-11, sr., Iowa City West; S Heather Splinter, 5-8, soph., Dubuque Hempstead; L Jamie Farley, 5-6, sr., Cedar Falls; L Anna Pashkova, 5-5, sr., Iowa City West.

Player of the year — Stumpff. Coach of the year — Kathy Bresnahan, Iowa City West.

Second Team

OH Allison Bitter, 5-9, soph., Dubuque Hempstead; OH Miranda Dusenberry, 5-9, jr., Cedar Falls; OH Taylor Soeken, 5-8, jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; MH Becca Bell, 6-1, jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; MH Hannah Infelt, 6-0, sr., Iowa City West; MH Haley Van Cleave, 6-2, soph., Dubuque Hempstead; S Kelley Fliehler, 5-10, sr., Iowa City West; S Sarah Homan, 5-7, jr., Cedar Rapids Xavier.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


, , , , , , , ,

From the community

Local Life

Prep Sports Podcast

Find Us on Facebook